International Women’s Day vol.100

(Sidenote: I don’t consider myself as a feminist, this post just turned up this way. I’m actually quite happy being a woman surrounded by great people who treat me with their respect and I know how to avoid the ones who don’t. Every women’s day I’m happy to know that there’s at least one man, my lovely dad, who will buy me flowers.
Sometimes I just find it sad that there are women who are treated wrong and they accept it. I think all women need to appreciate themselves more.)

It’s only been 100 years of having women’s day around and god knows how many years of men’s day. Everyday they need someone to give birth to them, feed them, take care of them, clean for them and so on.

a womanschoolkidsgardenists

I thought it was the men to blame for our the inequality or the disrespect towards women, but then one day I realized that we women do it to ourselves. I heard stories of how women are the ones cleaning up at the office and making coffee, not because they have to but siply because they consider it as their responsibility. Women sitting, listening to a sexist man and laughing at his jokes just because they find him on a superior level.

Then there is the other side, the maybe not so popular side of the Slavic culture. There women are expected to stay home and take care of the household, the old traditional way. Sounds very cruel and very unequal, right? Well I had the chance to visit the country of my origins a while ago, Estonia, not maybe the best example but still an example. One of the first thing I noticed, after all the drunken Finns, was how men held the door for me, passed me things, offered to open a bottle for me, simple things. On some level men’s mentality is “women’s place is to be home and cook” but they also treat their women with some respect. And when I thought about this more I also realized that most of the times it is the woman who calls the shots in those men’s lives, whether it is the girlfriend, wife or mother.

Now let’s go back to the first setting, in the country of more “equality”. Men have the same mentality as mentioned above, but here’s the catch: they also consider us, women as equal when ever there’s a need to. For example there’s no need to hold the door for us, because “hey we are all equal here!” but “hey don’t interrupt us men in our office meeting, go and fetch us some coffee!”. As a woman, who is considered to be equal, I wouldn’t fetch the coffee. Unfortunately however most women do exactly that and all those things mentioned previously.

What I would like to say is “Women! Wake the hell up!”
At least in the Slavic cultures women get and insist on their respect, here there just isn’t any. With all the equality talks women have lost the respect from not only men but also from themselves. Do we consider ourselves inadequate, lower rate?
Please let us not just sit there and listen to the sexist jokes and laugh, let us not fetch the coffee for men. It’s like we don’t expect more from ourselves and we just settle for what we are given: the false equality.

We, women, are much more than that. We are what makes the world go round and we should not be treated with disrespect! Lets not let them treat us in that way.

a flowerrosestulips

Let us enjoy the 100th Women’s Day and hopefully that day will be everyday in the future!

About Yyelenaa

a world citizen located in finland.. trying to figure out the strangeness in the world
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

